Sahasrara Chakra Meditation Benefits

Sahasrara Chakra Meditation Benefits

MindOrbs Fallback Image

Sahasrara or Crown Chakra

Sahasrara chakra is the chief of all the six chakras namely, Muladhara, Svadhisthana, Manipura, Anahata, Vishuddha, and Ajna. This corresponds to the brain in the physical body. In some modern texts, it refers to the pineal body.

It is the state where the yogi gets the highest state of consciousness and becomes the knower of everything. He becomes the full-blown Jnani.

Sahasrara, as the name itself, implies that it contains a thousand petals. It resembles the one thousand yoga Nadis that emanates from here. These produce one thousand vibrations. The 50 Sanskrit letters that correspond to the vibrations of the subtle channels are repeated for all the Nadis.

Some authors mention that the Nadis present in this energy center does not produce any vibration. The position of this Sahasrara energy center is situated above the six chakras and has connections with all of it.

The aspirant can attain the state of Samadhi through this crown chakra. The cosmic energy (not related to the dimension of energy in Physical science) flows to the yogi through this energy center. This center is so powerful as when the aspirant duly concentrates on it, he can see the bright radiance of its presence.

The aspirant can experience this phenomenon only when the yogi has attained the required potential in this energy center through meditation. In the book “Why Kundalini Meditation So Special?” I have explained the nature of man doing kundalini meditation and the right way to practice to attain the plausible energy in a short time.

The significance of Sahasrara chakra is about knowing reality without distortion, assumption, and conclusion. It is to perceive reality as it is. It helps to increase the perception level of the meditator along with the other chakras.

The cosmic wisdom passes through this crown and thus the aspirant becomes a full-blown Jnani as I said before. This spiritual energy also illuminates the lower energy centers.

Sahasrara Chakra Meditation

The three different states of mind excluding the beta state are attained through Sahasrara chakra meditation.

These states of mind are classified according to the mental frequencies that are produced in the brain. Mostly the wakeful state of the yogi is having the mental frequency of alpha waves where the mind is in a peaceful and calm condition.

This is shown by the significant increase in the alpha wave production by the yogis initially when he enters into the meditative state followed by the theta and the delta state. In the final state of the mind, the consciousness gets expanded as the mental frequency is very much low and becomes more perceptible to the divinity which is not possible in the ordinary state of the mind.

In this state, the aspirant will able to know the self. He can see the absolute unity in everything that he is not different from the external cosmic world. This is called the Sahasrara which means infinity, where the thousand is also depicted as the infinity in ancient India.

This can be also stated as the consciousness of the yogi gets evolved to an infinite state.  Here the experiencer, experienced, and experience seem indifferent. The aspirant realizes that everything emanates from within and nothing is apart from this. This is the state that the aspirant attains through the Sahasrara chakra. ( Read also How to Practice Kundalini Meditation?)

The book “Why Kundalini Meditation So Special?” gives a clear understanding of such practices and a guide for those who seek the path in this field.


Praveen Kumar

Praveen is the founder and editor at MindOrbs, an online magazine about personal development, yoga, meditation, spirituality, health, and wellness. He is a postgraduate in Physics, author, and entrepreneur. He is a kundalini practitioner for more than 15 years.